Five Songs on Friday (12 May 2017)

I’m back with another five songs on the best day of the week. This week’s theme is “the last five songs I looked up on Shazam.” Is “Shazamed” a word? It is now. (Plus this is 2017, so probably.) So here we go, here are the last five songs I Shazamed.

 

1. It Ain’t Me – Kygo and Selena Gomez

I Shazamed this song at a bowling alley during “Midnight Bowl” (which I hate because I can’t see where the ball is going with all the flashing disco lights.) Anyway, I Shazamed this because the verses were super catchy and it sounded like a Sia song. Conclusion: I don’t think Selena is the best vocalist, but every song she releases or is featured on is a hit. 

2. Cleopatra – The Lumineers

I was out with my boyfriend and he was convinced that there was someone performing live music. I Shazamed this to prove that the Lumineers were not, in fact, performing a free live concert win the middle of a food court in Upstate New York. I get where he was coming from, though, because this song has a very raw sound. I dig it.

3. Wherever You Will Go – The Calling

I heard this at a restaurant and couldn’t remember which broody early-2000s rock band it was. Not gonna lie, this song doesn’t hold up in 2017. It sounds like every other early-2000s mellow rock song. This was for sure on a “Now That’s What I Call Music” CD, right?

4. You Don’t Know Me – Jax Jones feat. RAYE

This was another Midnight Bowl song. I heard it and thought “this would be a great song to run to.” Update: it is.

5. The Great Longing – Lost Under Heaven

This song ended the first episode of 13 Reasons Why on Netflix, which had a killer soundtrack overall. It’s one of those songs that I know I’ve heard before but can’t place. In any event, it’s a good song.

 

To find all these songs plus the songs from last week’s FSoF, check out my Spotify playlist here.

What’s the last song you Shazamed?

Leave a Reply

