Five Songs on Friday (5 May 2017)

I’m starting a new thing for this blog. I’m a big music fan, as I’m sure are most of you reading this right now. Music is one of those things, like reading, that can be both communal and entirely personal at the same time.

When I’m in my car or listening to music through headphones, I’m in my own space. No one knows what I’m listening to — I can skip the songs I want to skip, I can listen to the same song 12 times in a row, and I can listen to those songs I might be embarrassed to admit that I listen to. At the same time, I like going to concerts with friends, introducing people to new music, and getting recommendations from other people.

So here’s what I’m going to do. Every Friday, I’m going to share five songs. They might be brand new songs, they might all have a common theme, I might ask other people for suggestions, or I might just pick songs from my library at random. (I’ll even compile them in a Spotify playlist so they’re all in one place.)

I want these posts to be a place where I can share the music I love, get some new suggestions, and, most importantly, tell the stories I associate with that music.

So for this week, to start, here are the first five songs that played when I put my phone on shuffle.

1. Half of Something Else – The Airborne Toxic Event

Is this a One Tree Hill song? It sounds like a One Tree Hill song. It also sounds like a song that would play the first time a couple sleeps together on a TV show. So, yeah, definitely a One Tree Hill song.

2. Levels – Nick Jonas

As a former self-proclaimed Jonas Brothers fangirl, I tried very hard for a while to support the boys in all their solo endeavors. Sometimes it was easy, as was the case with this song. Other times, not so much. (I’m looking at you, Joe.)

3. Uptown Music – Fredalba

My favorite TV show is a little show called 24. Perhaps you’ve heard of it. There was a character in the sixth season named Milo, played by Eric Balfour. Eric Balfour was in a band called Fredalba. Also, we share a birthday. Also, I thought he was really hot.

Anyway, I was really into this band for a while. It’s like, wanna-be-nineties-hip-hop + low key California beach music. And I used to lay by my pool and listen to it while a sunbathed because I was cool. Sometimes I still do.

4. Running – James Bay

I saw James Bay at Radio City Music Hall in New York last year with friends when I really didn’t know that much about him. Now, he’s one of my favorites. And this song is great.

Highlight from that concert: the very, very intoxicated woman behind me jumping up and down, screaming the wrong lyrics, and shouting “James Bay, you sexy bastard!”

5. Reflecting Light – Sam Phillips

Disclaimer: If you’re a Gilmore Girls fan and this song doesn’t ring a bell, you might cry when you listen and realize what song it is. This song was used during memorable moments in both the original series and the Netflix revival. And it’s amazing. It brings back memories. It gets to me. Even if you’re not a Gilmore Girls fan, listen anyway. It might get to you, too.

Okay, now it’s your turn. Put your phone/MP3 player/streaming system on shuffle. Let me know what comes up. If there’s an associated story, share it.

To view the Five Songs on Friday Spotify playlist, click here.

Leave a Reply

